Health(ier) Quiche Lorraine Recipe

Hi everyone!

image
Image Credit: MemeCrunch.com

 

Today I’m going to share one of my favourite health(ier) lunch ideas – Quiche Lorraine! Whilst normal quiches are really high in fat, by cutting out the cream and reducing the cheese of normal Quiche Lorraine recipes, you’re already making this so much healthier! Use wholemeal flour instead of white, skinny milk instead of full fat, ham instead of bacon and reduced fat pastry (or if you’re super good, no pastry at all!) and you can almost kid yourself that it has less calories than the carrot and celery sticks you feel like you should be eating. (Truth bomb: it doesn’t, but it also tastes a lot better!).

Ingredients you need for 10 muffin size quiches:

– 130g ham, chopped.

– 1/2 cup light mozzarella cheese

– 1/3 cup wholemeal plain flour

– Salt, pepper and dried parsley to taste

– 1/2 cup of frozen peas and corn

– 4 eggs

– 1 1/2 cups of skinny milk

– 2 sheets of reduced fat puff pastry.

This recipe is super easy (thank goodness because I couldn’t be worse at cooking!) – you can pretty much stir everything in together, and put the ingredients into the pastry – layered muffin pan. My oven was on 180 degrees Celsius, and the quiches cooked for approximately 20 minutes (my oven is super fast though, so this may be different for you, and you should cook per the directions on the pastry sheet).

I served this with a side salad of almonds, spinach and arugula and it was delicious!

PS. They looked SO ugly that I couldn’t bring myself to put a picture of them up on the internet. I promise you though, they tasted delicious!

 

Let me know if you try this recipe out! What’s your favourite lunch idea? Let me know in the comments!

Leave a Reply

