My ‘DIY’ Fancy High Tea

high tea 1
Cupckes, cookies and quiches, oh my!

Hi guys!

So, in an extremely surprising turn of events, I just hosted a high tea at my house! This is uncharacteristic for me, because I hate having people over, and generally prefer to go to a cafe any day. BUT, it was really fun. Here’s what I did:

I made some chocolate chip cookies, apple and cinnamon muffins, quiche lorraines, and also served fruit. My guests also brought cupcakes, scones, M&Ms and flowers, which was so lovely of them!  I wish I could say that I handmade everything, but, um, I once gave myself food poisoning from an oat slice which contained no dairy at all, so it’s really best for everyone’s health that I don’t bake anything which doesn’t come in a mix. Everything still tasted good, though!

photo 2
Yeah, so  I kinda forgot that cookies expand. Whoops!

It was too hot to serve tea or coffee, so I served pink lemonade, water with lemon and lime, and non alcoholic sparkling apple cider.

photo 3
Yes, those are NYC themed cake decorations! I love them!

It was just generally a really nice day – we sat around and ate too much food and talked! Some weird conversations (such as burial vs. cremation) came up, and it was great to hear what everyone was up to, especially because after high school everyone had gone to different universities/ different countries.

table2
The table in all its’ food-covered glory.

Have you ever hosted or been to a high tea? What’s your favourite thing to do with your friends? Let me know in the comments!

Leave a Reply

