Recipe: Health(ier) Fruit, Nut and Chocolate Chip Muffins!

Hi y’all,

So I was walking home from the gym today, when I had a craving for a really rich, really chocolatey, really completely – not – good – for me brownie. Instead of buying one from the bakery right next door to my gym (and oh, how I wanted to) I came home and made these muffins. Now, I’m not going to claim that these are totally healthy – because they’re not – but they’re healthier than a bakery counterpart. And because they have fruit and nuts in them, I claim (to myself) that they’re healthy, and I count that as a win. That’s how it works, right? 🙂

Note: the measurements are all rough. Mainly because I don’t like washing up and every measuring cup/ spoon I use means more washing up. So I just use my own estimates and hope for the best, and this time it turned out well!

healthy food
Image Credit: We Know Memes. The reason I’m not including a photo of the muffins here, is because I’m a terrible food photographer – seriously. Go check out the photo of the sundae in my last post. Also, because with all the cacao and the wholemeal flour, they just looked like brown blobs. Don’t get me wrong, they were delicious brown blobs, but they weren’t pretty enough brown blobs to go on the internet.

Ingredients:

– 1.5 cups of  wholemeal self raising flour

– 125g of butter (but, if you want to be healthier than I am, you could substitute this for honey or maple syrup… Probably.)

– a handful of cranberries*

– 2 handfuls of sultanas*

– 1 banana, cut up into small pieces*

– 2 teaspoons – 1 table spoon of vanilla essence ( adjust accordingly, depending on how much you like vanilla essence)

– 2 teaspoons of cinnamon

– 1 – 2 tablespoons of hazelnut meal (again, adjust accordingly)

– 1 tablespoon of walnut meal

– 2 tablespoons of cacao powder (I personally think that cacao powder tastes like the bottom of someone’s dirty shoe, which is why I put in a bit of ‘real’ chocolate, but if you like cacao, feel free to put in 3 tablespoons of cacao and cut out the good stuff).

– 1-3 small squares of the chocolate of your choice (I personally used Lindt dark mint chocolate, because it’s all I had on hand, and it tasted really good), roughly cut up into small pieces

– 1/2 a cup of shredded coconut

– 1 tablespoon of brown sugar

– 2 eggs

– 1 teaspoon of hot chocolate powder

*Note: these are only the fruits I had on hand that I thought might work okay. Other fruits that might work well: blueberries, apples, raspberries and dried apricot.

Method:

Preheat your oven to 180°C, and crease a 12 hole big muffin pan.

Combine the butter, sugar, bananas, eggs and vanilla in a bowl and mix well, then slowly add in the rest of the ingredients, leaving a small portion (about a tablespoon) of the coconut and one square of chocolate aside. Once these ingredients are mixed in well, place portions of the mixture into each of the holes (about a tablespoon of the mixture in each one). Chop up the square of chocolate into small pieces. Top each muffin with a sprinkle of coconut, and a small sliver of chocolate, then place into your oven and bake for 15-20 minutes.

So, there you have it! I’m going to level with you: it didn’t taste as good as a brownie, but it was still pretty darn good!

Let me know if you try this out! What are your favourite sweet treats? What about your favourite healthy recipes? Tell me about them in the comments – I’d love to try them out!

PS. Today’s playlist:

Tim McGraw – One of Those Nights

Luke Bryan – Drunk on You

Brantley Gilbert – More Than Miles

Taylor Swift – 22 

Peyton Rae – Dare To Live

2 thoughts on “Recipe: Health(ier) Fruit, Nut and Chocolate Chip Muffins!

Leave a Reply

